Review Love in the Time of Cholera

IMG_20150314_151804

Love in the Time of Cholera

Author: Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Genre: Fiction

Pages: 434

Publisher: Vintage Books

My Rating: 6,5/10

My reading time: 4 weeks!

Summary via Goodreads

In their youth, Florentino Ariza and Fermina Daza fall passionately in love. When Fermina eventually chooses to marry a wealthy, well-born doctor, Florentino is devastated, but he is a romantic. As he rises in his business career he whiles away the years in 622 affairs–yet he reserves his heart for Fermina. Her husband dies at last, and Florentino purposefully attends the funeral. Fifty years, nine months, and four days after he first declared his love for Fermina, he will do so again.

My story

The reason I bought this book is because I stumbled upon A Very Old Man with Enormous Wings, a short story from Marquez that teaches me the power of twist ending in a story. After a few delay, I finally decided to buy one of his book, I just typed his name in Amazon and see A Love in Time of Cholera as the first suggestion. Without checking the review in Goodreads, I directly pressed the button to buy. I thought, a very well-known novel of a Nobel Prize winner could never go wrong.

But then i was wrong. I give this book 6/10 for the sake of beautiful writing. Five points for the classic writing, one for the great setting and half point for the wicked plot. Who doesn’t admire Marquez for his style of writing? His perfect diction and strong tone of voices (through the narrative!) in this novel are things that make this novel alive. I also can’t put this novel away (even though I often tired reading this novel because nothing seems to happen after hundreds of pages) because of the wicked plot was arranged smartly. Not to mention, I can witness the beautiful Caribbean Sea for half of century.

The irony is, I dislike this novel because of the wickedness itself. I do not agree that the love of Florentino Ariza and Fermina Daza is being potrayed as a true love! I mean 622 affairs, come on! Florentino Ariza indeed waits for Fermina Daza’s love for half of century, but is that true love? Not for me. Within those 622 affairs, there are also disturbing stories that delivered impeccable. And those 622 affairs somehow could not erase Florentino’s innocence figure, so he could still be the hero for Fermina Daza in her old days.

I read this novel hoping to meet the true meaning of love in the old times when people have to struggle for a plague. But then I didn’t see anyone really suffer from Cholera, I didn’t feel the plague was around and ruin everybody’s life and love. If this novel is really about Cholera, the story should be centered in Dr. Juvenal Urbino’s life(Fermina Daza’s husband). The story should be about how he tempered his wife with his true love and finding the cure for the cholera.

If you want to read this book because the sake of Gabriel Garcia Marquez or you want to see how is life in the time cholera, it is better for you to not read this, because you might not really amuse with what you read. I, myself will continue my book journey with Marquez’ short stories and his great novel One Hundred Years of Solitude.

So, what is your impression after reading my review? Have you read this book or another Marquez’ works?

Let me know

18 thoughts on “Review Love in the Time of Cholera

  1. I know his name, and once have a book in French translation, but I never really read it, because my French was so poor…

    Did he wrote in English or Spain?

  2. I haven’t heard about his name before so of course I haven’t read any of his work before :hehe. But 622 affairs, in my opinion, are indeed quite exaggerating, ya… but I think that he must have his own reasons for putting that many of affairs, so… I think I could judge only if I have read the novel :)).

  3. I was intrigued reading your review. I love Marquez’s work…his writing is just so beautiful and quite emotive. This is one of my favorite books, but I can see why you took issue with the 644 affairs! Yes, that is absolutely absurd, but I saw it a different way. To me, it just signified that no matter how many other women he was with, none of them would ever compare to his true love (and, Marquez being who he was had to put an absurd number out there…lol) . It’s always interesting to see how other people view this book because it is so special to me.

    • It’s nice to know your comment on this book, Lourdes. I just heard that people like it, but I dunno exactly why.

      He put so much absurdity to one person till I can’t take it anymore. 😣

  4. Your review make me want to read it. Haha. Just my weird habit, sometimes when people someone says a book is this or that I will get curious about it and want to read it myself. 😀

  5. I know this book from Oprah show, she was talking about love in a time of cholera and put it on her book club, i havent read the book but i saw the movie not really impressive to me guess that was why i didnt try to read the book, well maybe i should.
    Hello assalamualaikum 🙂

Leave a Reply

