Review The Shadow of the Wind

Oh well, April is just starting but my plan didn’t go very well.

As a humble human nature, I would like to blame it on this book ‘The Shadow of the Wind’. Soon after I finish reading ‘A Love in Time of Cholera’, I directly jumped to the book rack and took Shadow of the Wind out. I first open the page of this book on Tuesday before I went to sleep, since then all I want to do is just finish that book. So, since my time occupied so much to read that book, i abandoned most of everything else. I didn’t do NAPOWRIMO, I haven’t finished my novel (3 more pages), I didn’t post anything in my blog, I even didn’t study German and I haven’t sent my application to muslimgirl.com. Well, it’s been a while since a found i very good book so I guess I give myself a favor to enjoy it. I finished the book in the mid of Thursday after sacrifice two nights of less sleep. I feel so alive.

So here I give you review of the book that just took my time away in these few days. But first, let me thank B (my husband) who convinced me to read this book and cook breakfast and not complain about how messy the house is because all I want in these few days just to finish this book. Thank you, B.

B and I read books from Zafon.

B and I read books from Zafon.

Title: The Shadow of the Wind

Author: Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Genre: Mystery

Pages: 510

Publisher: Orion Books

My Rating: 9/10

My Reading Time: Three days

Favorite Quote: ‘There are no coincidences, Daniel. We are puppets of our subconscious desires.’

Synopsis via Goodreads

Barcelona, 1945: A city slowly heals in the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War, and Daniel, an antiquarian book dealer’s son who mourns the loss of his mother, finds solace in a mysterious book entitled The Shadow of the Wind, by one Julián Carax. But when he sets out to find the author’s other works, he makes a shocking discovery: someone has been systematically destroying every copy of every book Carax has written. In fact, Daniel may have the last of Carax’s books in existence. Soon Daniel’s seemingly innocent quest opens a door into one of Barcelona’s darkest secrets–an epic story of murder, madness, and doomed love.

My Story

I always love book that tells story about a book and its author, for me it is so relate-able. I feel that any book worm ever wanted is to get a little bit spark of magic from the book we love the most. We want to take part in the story, we want the characters come to life, we want the book changes us in any possible way, we want to meet the author to thank and to beg for another book to come. And I can relate those feeling with the main character, Daniel Sempere. So when I start to know him, I feel like his journey become mine.

I thought the genre of this book is fantasy, the first pages remind me about the feeling I had when I read The Neverending Story and Inkheart. But as soon as I realize how authentic Post Civil War Barcelona was described in this book, I directly see how Zafon wants to bring magical realism for his reader. It evokes the memories of me reading Harry Potter for the first time, but instead of rushing to have a lunch in The Great Hall, I see myself strolling down Calle de Santa Ana and feel a gothic mystery waits for me to unravel.

What I like the most of this book is how Zafon able to show many kinds of profound relationship. Parent-kid, husband-wife, friendship, partnership, affairs, admiration and a lot of thing that is hard to render. I also like his allegory of shadow in this book. Whether there is no fix explanation on what is Zafon’s idea on the shadow, as a reader I see the shadow as fear. A symbol for something that hold someone’s to move on, a presence that often raise doubt and question.

Shadow of the Wind delivers well measured fantasy within reality for adults. It completes anyone who is hungry for suspense and the warmth of divine relationship. It answers those who are longing of refine childhood as well as an abstract adulthood. It teaches me so much about dream, love and perseverance.

If you don’t know what to read, if you plan to buy a book, buy this one, read this book, thank me later. 😀

5 thoughts on “Review The Shadow of the Wind

Leave a Reply

